رويال كانال جرينواي

مرحبًا بكم في Royal Canal Greenway ، مسار المشي لمسافات طويلة على الطرق الوعرة وركوب الدراجات الذي يربط Maynooth مع Longford Town. يمر المسار بطول 130 كم عبر المناظر الطبيعية الخضراء المورقة في الشرق القديم لأيرلندا باتجاه نهر شانون العظيم في هيدن هارتلاندز في أيرلندا.

تم بناء القناة الملكية ، التي يطلق عليها أحيانًا "قناة شوميكر" من قصة تربط أحد مروجيها الأوائل بمثل هذه الحرفة ، بعد 14 عامًا من القناة الكبرى. بعد سنوات من التراجع ، توقف أخيرًا عن استخدامه كممر مائي تجاري في عام 1951 ، على الرغم من أنه لا يزال يتمتع به مستخدمو الترفيه حتى يومنا هذا.

ابدأ مغامرتك في مرفأ Maynooth الرائع في هذه المدينة الجامعية الشهيرة ، بالقرب من الحدائق المسورة و demesne of Carton House وقم برحلة أو ركوب الدراجة لمسافة 6 كم إلى Kilcock أو أبعد من ذلك إلى Enfield وما بعده. مع سهولة الوصول إلى الامتداد بين Maynooth و Kilcock بالسيارة على طول الطريق M4 وخدمات الحافلات والسكك الحديدية المتكررة من وسط مدينة دبلن يجعل هذا طريقًا مناسبًا للمشاة.

ماينوث
يتوفر موقف للسيارات في محطة قطار Maynooth (3.50 يورو سعر كل يوم). إذا كنت ترغب في ركوب دراجة ، فيمكنك استئجار دراجة في Royal Canal Bike Hire الموجود بجوار المرفأ (ملاحظة: تأجير الدراجات غير متاح حاليًا بسبب Covid-19).

خذ تحويلاً من الطريق لزيارة قلعة Maynooth 12 المهيبة ، المقر السابق لـ FitzGeralds واستمتع بالمرطبات في أحد أماكن تناول الطعام العديدة في المدينة. بينما يوفر Maynooth Harbour مراسي للصنادل والوصول إلى صيد الأسماك مع منطقة نزهة وملعب في الجوار.

Kilcock
يتوفر موقف للسيارات في Fair Green. استمتع ببعض المرطبات في أحد الحانات أو المقاهي العديدة. تقع محطة القطار على الجانب الآخر من القناة لرحلة العودة ، أو تابع السير إلى إنفيلد (على بعد 13 كم).

تمت استعادة Kilcock Harbour في عام 1982 وأعيد فتحه للقوارب في عام 2010. كما استضاف بطولة Canoe Polo الوطنية في عام 2018.

ها هو اقتراحنا للإنفاق 24 ساعة في رويال كانال غرينواي أو راجع دليلنا إلى احصل على أقصى استفادة من تجربة Royal Canal Greenway.

للحصول على خريطة ومزيد من المعلومات ، انقر هنا.

تفاصيل الإتصال

احصل على الاتجاهات
ماينوث, مقاطعة كيلدير, أيرلندا.

القنوات الاجتماعية

Royal Canal Greenway

Welcome to the Royal Canal Greenway, a long-distance, off-road walking and cycling trail connecting Maynooth with Longford Town. The 130km trail passes through the lush green landscapes of Ireland’s Ancient East towards the mighty River Shannon in Ireland’s Hidden Heartlands.

The Royal Canal, sometimes called the ‘Shoemaker’s Canal’ from a story linking one of its early promoters with such a craft, was built 14 years after the Grand Canal. Following years of decline, it finally ceased to be used as a commercial waterway in 1951, though is still enjoyed by leisure users to this day.

Start your adventure at Maynooth’s fine harbour in this renowned university town, close to the walled gardens and demesne of Carton House and trek or cycle 6km to Kilcock or further afield to Enfield and beyond. With an easy access to the stretch between Maynooth and Kilcock by car along the M4 and frequent bus and rail services from Dublin city centre makes this a convenient route for walkers.

Maynooth
Car parking is available at Maynooth Train Station (€3.50 all day rate). If you would like to take in a cycle, you can hire a bike at Royal Canal Bike Hire located beside the Harbour (note: bike hire not currently available due to Covid-19).

Take a diversion from the route to visit the imposing 12th Maynooth Castle, former residence of the FitzGeralds and enjoy refreshments in one of the many eating places in the town. While Maynooth Harbour provides moorings for barges and fishing access with a picnic area and playground close by.

Kilcock
Car parking is available at the Fair Green. Enjoy some refreshments at one of the many pubs or coffee shops. The train station is located across from the canal for a return journey, or continue onwards to Enfield (13km away).

Kilcock Harbour was restored in 1982 and reopened to boating in 2010. It also played host to the National Canoe Polo Championships in 2018.

Here’s our suggestion for spending 24 hours on the Royal Canal Greenway or check out our guide to getting the most out of your Royal Canal Greenway experience.

For a map and more information, click here.

Contact Details

Get Directions
Maynooth, County Kildare, Ireland.

Social Channels