en

Curragh Racecourse

The Curragh Racecourse in County Kildare is Ireland’s premier international Flat horse racing venue  and one of the most iconic sporting venues in the world.

It stages 18 meetings from May to September in 2018 including all 5 Irish classic races highlighted by the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby Festival in late June. A variety of bars, restaurants and a brand new playground for children will be in place.

It is one of the most historic sporting venues in Ireland with the first race taking place during the 1700s and is truly a venue where “Champions are Made” from training to racing.

It has a fascinating heritage  – there is also written evidence of horse racing dating back to the third century when chariot races were held at the “Cuireach” – the Gaelic word for racecourse, on the lands known today as the Curragh

Ireland is branded as the “Land of the Horse” and County Kildare is branded as the “Thoroughbred County” with the Curragh at it’s very centre as the established capital of the Irish horse racing industry and home to an extensive racing community.

Prices vary on different race days and in different enclosures. Check the Curragh Racecourse website for accurate up to date price information.  Situated on the west side of Newbridge just off exit 12 of the M7 motorway.  Irish Rail and Dublin Coach provide transport on race days

The racecourse  is currently been redeveloped into a world class multi purpose state of the art venue with world class racecourse and event centre to be completed by the end of this year. 

Race Days 2018

Friday 11th May                      Opening Day of Season

Saturday 12th May                   Plusvital Race day featuring the Group 3 Blue Wind Stakes

Saturday 26th May                   Tattersalls Irish 2000 Guineas (Group 1 Classic)

Sunday 27th May                     Tattersalls Irish 1000 Guineas (Group 1 Classic)

Friday 8th June                        TRM Race day featuring Ballyogan Stakes

Saturday 9th June                     Junefest Newbridge Parishes  Family Race Day

Friday 29th June                      Derby Festival Friday

Saturday 30th June                   Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby (Group 1 Classic)

Sunday 1st July                        Juddmonte Pretty Polly Stakes (Group 1)

Saturday 21st July                    Darley Irish Oaks (Group 1 Classic)

Sunday 22nd July                     Kilboy Estate Stakes

Monday 6th August                  Bank Holiday Race Day

Sunday 12th August                 Keeneland Phoenix Stakes (Group 1) (Family Day)

Saturday 25th August               Longines Irish Champion Trials Weekend

Sunday 26th August                 Longines Irish Champion Trials Weekend

Friday 31st August                  Autumn Racing

Saturday1st Sept                      Autumn Racing

Sunday  16th Sept                    Longines Irish Champions Weekend (Group 1 Classic)

Opening Hours

Normally between 2pm and 6pm but check the course for details.
Up to 20 race meetings each year from March to October usually on Saturdays or Sundays.

What’s Nearby?

or
Don't have an account? Sign up today.

Have an account? Log in.